Agricultural Economics Concentration

The concentration in Agricultural Economics aims to provide ISET students with expertise in economics as required for the agricultural sector. Students from any country who successfully complete the first year of studies at ISET are eligible to participate in the concentration.

The concentration includes 4 required core courses (12 credits), to be taken during the second year of study:

Students will be able to choose additional courses from a menu of relevant electives, including but not limited to Cost-Benefit Analysis, Development Economics, International Trade, Trade Policy, and Transition Economics. 

Students will have to attend the seminars and research workshops specifically designed for the concentration.

They will also have to write a Master's Thesis, a Literature Critique or an Applied Project related to agricultural economics.

ISET will assist students accepted into the concentration in securing a summer internship in a related field, so that they enter the concentration with some practical experience in the field. During the academic year, the students will have additional opportunities to interact with agribusinesses, farmers’ associations, NGOs, and public sector entities operating in the agricultural sector and rural economy through seminars and site visits to farms and agribusinesses.

As an alternative to the summer internship students will have the possibility to read (and write a short review of) literature related to agricultural economics (to be agreed with the coordinator of the concentration). This document must be submitted/discussed at the beginning of the first mini-term.

In 2014, ISET was awarded a three year grant from USAID in support of the Concentration and the establishment of the Agricultural Policy Research Center (APRC) at ISET-PI. Through this partnership with USAID, Prof. Phatima Mamardashvili, an agricultural economist from ETH Zurich, joined ISET and ISET-PI to provide leadership for activities undertaken by the APRC and the Concentration.

Concentration Coordinator: Professor Phatima Mamardashvili,

Copyright © 2009, International School of Economics at TSU   |   Mail server New